Another Step

I followed Joseph McNamara to __picture it & write, and was inspired to write this:

Light was streaming in through the window. Bright, beautiful morning light streamed through the dirty, rain stained window finally brightening the tiny room that had become my dim reality. It had been raining for what seemed an eternity, a cold dreary rain that drained wills and sapped energy. I had fought it out of instinct and sheer will, singing, laughing, screaming, crying, refusing to let myself be sucked down into the void of self pity and pain that threatened to consume me every day, but finally the universe had heard my pleas and granted me glorious illumination, driving away the shadows and fear, bringing lightness and a joy I had feared my soul would never know again, and I understood that this was what I had been fighting for, not to disappear into the cold dreary nothingness, but to embrace this glorious warmth and go take the next step on my journey in peace, my path lighted; I could finally let go.

I’ve been thinking about some of the people who have left this stage of the journey for the next lately, some of them finally at peace, others kicking and screaming; I’m not sure exactly where this came from, it just sprang forth fully formed from my mind. I’m sure the image will mean different things to different people, what does it mean to you?

5 Comments

Filed under Meanderings

5 responses to “Another Step

  1. Good piece. It is good to find a way out of the darkness and into the light.

  2. “My path lighted, I could finally let go,” -great vision from you in mind and word… so glad you joined in this week…

  3. I like the contrast of the light against your gloomy description of the rains. I don’t know what comes after death, but surely if there’s a next step, it’s easier to take with a lighted path. Nice thoughts!

  4. It’s so great to see what the image represented for you. Sometimes the best time to seek peace and ‘the light’ is when we are at our lowest points. But it can be hard for us to see that in our misery. Thanks for contributing this week!

    – Ermisenda

  5. bloomnpsycho

    For me, this is a good description of what it feels like to come out of a depressive state into euthymia or hypomania. I have type II bipolar disorder.

Leave a Reply

