31 Days of Dominance – Day 7

What do you feel are the roots of your dominance? Do you think it has something to do with childhood? Is it a relationship management tool as in the practice of domestic discipline? Is it a sexual thrill or something else?

I have thought about this a lot.  I do believe my dominance is rooted in my childhood, I am an eldest child, and I lost my father at the age of five, so I have felt responsible for as long as I can remember. As I grew, my mother gave me a lot of latitude in dealing with my siblings and held me responsible for the outcomes.  I began honing my traits as a dominant and leader while still in elementary school. It seems that I am saying this a lot, but at this point on my journey, my dominance is as much a part of me as my left leg, or maybe more.  If my leg were to be amputated I would still be me, but without my dominance I would be an entirely different person.

Is this a relationship management tool? I hope not, because I do not think much of my skills as a manager, I consider myself a leader, likewise, while there is sometimes sexual excitement involved in my D/s relationship, D/s is not about sex, or at least not for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under 31 Days of Dominance, Meanderings

Leave a Reply

