The Submissive’s Prayer

This is something I wrote three years ago, and as I browsed through my old files looking for inspiration I stumbled across it.
________________________________________________________

I’m stuck at home today, my arthritis flared as the barometer dropped, and I’m not willing to steal from the boss by setting at work and doing nothing. I wanted to not waste the entire day, so I sat down at the computer to at least do a little editing. I’m sharing the piggy’s computer, my is broken into many pieces, and I keep buying too many toys and presents instead of getting a replacement, but I digress.

I decided to spend a little time working on my Household Manual, which I have promised my self to finish the latest version of before I turn fifty. Since this happens in just 19 days now, I better get on the stick!

Again I digress. I was looking for some notes I types a few weeks ago and came across the poem saves to the computer’s desktop as a .jpg file. I don’t know who wrote it, its all over the internet, but if credited it’s as “author unknown.” If you know who wrote it I’d love to hear so I can credit him or her, because this touches me in that private place deep inside that I show to so very, very few. So without further ado I present:

The Submissive’s Prayer

Allow me the strength to answer questions i can’t fathom.
Allow me the spirit to know His needs.
Allow me the serenity to serve Him in peace.
Allow me the love to show him myself.
Allow me the tenderness to comfort him.
Allow me the light to show us the way.
Allow me the wisdom to be an asset to him.
Let me be able to show Him each day my love of my service to Him.
Let me open myself up to completely belong to him.
Let me accept my punishment with the grace of a woman.
Let me learn to please Him, beyond myself.
Grant me the power to give myself to Him completely.
Give me the strength to please us both.
Permit me to love myself, in loving Him.
For it is my greatest wish, my highest power to make His life complete, as he makes mine.
________________________________________________________

Its amazing how much has changed, and more amazing how much has not.  I am still served by slave terry, and she is my constant inspiration.  The family has grown a little, there are  eleven of us now, up from 8. My arthritis still flares, but I’ve spent the last year without steady employment, so I haven’t had to worry about whether or not I was giving a boss full measure, the down side is that I have to worry about how to give the creditors full measure.  I managed to get the laptop replaced before I got laid off, so I can now lay in bed and type, although I’d probably be a bit more efficient if I restricted this to the office and desk.

I managed to get that revision done before my birthday, and two more after that, I’m down to a document that I am pretty happy with now. And that poem, that plea to a higher power, the submissive’s prayer? It still touches that special place deep in the core of me, the place that resonates with joy, and makes my service and effort worthwhile.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meanderings

Leave a Reply

